University of Missouri and Race

Poli-meaning many
Tics-blood sucking insects

Yep... that about sums up the Government...

University of Missouri and Race

Postby Rommie » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:41 pm

So for those who missed it, the UoMO is in the thick of the racial tension times because, in short, various racist incidents were occurring on campus that were quite disturbing, the university administration was slow to respond to this stuff, and it got to the point where many of the football players, black and white, were threatening to boycott their game on Saturday unless the university president resigned. This being America where such a threat equates to several million dollars, the president resigned right quick.

Now, I'm no expert on the local campus politics, but from reading up on what happened it does sound like the president seriously mismanaged it. Further, I suspect a lot of (white) people do not understand what it's like to be black in Missouri and how race can still be an issue (see: Ferguson). I also think people have a tendency to not consciously think it, but have a mentality of "ok, the president is out, that means racism on campus must be solved!" That said, this video was a bit weird. In short, a student journalist wandered in to take pictures of the protest, protesters got in his face telling him to leave because they didn't want him there, journalist refused, and he pretty much got assaulted out of there. Was the student arguably a bit of a jerk to continue taking pictures of people who didn't want their pictures taken? Yes, but then so does the paparazzi, on a more intimate and personal basis, and we can't assault them.