The Gadget Thread

The Gadget Thread

Postby Rommie » Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:11 pm

Starting a new thread here so we can stop derailing another when it comes to new gadgets and observations on them. Summary of the other one was, I believe, that Chromecast is awesome. :)

On another gadget note though, I got a roomba! Who am I to say no to having a robot servant running around and doing my most hated chore, right? 8-) (Seriously, vaccuming sucks and I have an irrational hatred for it- for whatever reason I don't mind other stuff half as much.) Finally set it up a few days ago and a few observations-

- The "saving time" factor hasn't really come into play much yet as I keep watching it. Once I'm confident that it can go about my apartment just fine and clean everything I guess I'll set it up to run during the day, but for now I keep an eye on it figures its thing out.

- Roomba is ok with most cables but did eat my laptop cord that was dangling on the floor, and got stuck under the radiator in the kitchen. Also cannot quite work out once it goes into the kitchen that it should get up from the 1" rise between hardwood floor living room and kitchen tiles- perhaps it eventually can but I haven't waited that long.

- It actually also just makes you keep a tidier house as it can't clear clutter off the floor, so you can't just throw your backpack down or whatever. So maybe there's more than one reason it keeps your house clean! :lol:

- As a friend noted who stopped by, the floor does indeed look much shinier and cleaner. So I guess it's doing something, but real trial IMO is how well it does the job in a year or so.